ESN Council

The European Social Network (ESN) Council is composed of 20 national and regional organisations which bring together directors of social services. They are ‘voting’ members and they elect the Board of Trustees. The Council is responsible for ESN's overall direction. The Council meet twice a year.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees are legally responsible for the governance of ESN. They are responsible for overseeing the management, financing and work of the network and the interest of its members.
The Board nominates Chair, Vice Chair and Honorary Treasurer and may allocate other responsibilities as needed.
The Trustees meet at least four times a year and are in regular communication throughout the year. Trustees do not receive payment for their work on behalf of ESN.

The current composition of the Board of Trustees is:

    • Christian Fillet, Chair
      Christian is Director of Social Services at OCMW Bruges in Belgium. In addition to this, he is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Flemish Directors Association (VVOS) and lectures in Social Affairs at the Provincial Administration School of Antwerp.
    • Carlos Santos Guerrero, Vice Chair
      Carlos is the Head of Service for Community Social Services Coordination at the Autonomous Government of Galicia. He has also been serving as the Secretary of the Board of the Galician Public Foundation for the Guardianship of Adults (FUNGA) for eight years.
    • Harri Jokiranta, Honorary Treasurer
      Harri is Deputy City Manager at City of Seinäjoki in Finland. Prior to this, he worked as Director of Development at the Centre of Excellence on Social Welfare in Ostrobothnia, Finland.
    • Graham Owen, ESN Legal and Performance
      Graham is the Director of Social Services at the Municipality of Trosa (Sweden) and a member of the Board of the Association of Swedish Directors of Social Services (FSS). Originally from the UK, Graham has a broad experience as a social worker and social services manager which stretches over five decades.
    • Kate Bøgh, member of the Board
      Kate has been a director within the public social services field since 1984. She is currently Social and Health Director at the municipality of Favrskov and Vicechair of the Association of Danish Directors of Social Services (FSD).
    • Miran Kerin, member of the Board
      Miran is the President of the Association of Centres for Social Work in Slovenia. He has extensive experience in social services as a psychologist and in management roles. He has been the Director of the Centre for social work at the municipality of Ptuj.

Alfonso Lara Montero is not a Trustee but acts as its Legal Secretary and works with the Board as Chief executive of ESN. 


ESN Members

ESN members are at the core of ESN's work. Members participate in ESN's annual conference, seminars, working groups, training programmes, country visits and other projects. Members are encouraged to contribute to discussions, research or collaboration programmes with other member organisations or European stakeholders, to use the network to make new contacts and contribute good practice exchange, online or at various events. ESN has now more than 120 member organisations in 35 countries.

ESN Secretariat

The ESN Secretariat provides strategic, policy, communications, financial and administrative support to the network. It also provides a range of services to members and manages the network’s relationships with the European Commission and other stakeholders. Meet the team.